top of page

My cover: FAQs, Discussion, The Works


All right so recently I posted my cover reveal and a ton of people have complimented me on it and have asked me about it so that's what this post is going to be all about.

Aside from being "pretty" this cover has a lot of meaning behind it and I just wanted to make a post discussing everything that went into it. But before I get into anything else I need to tell you who created it for me which is the extremely talented designer, Cassy Roop, from Pink Ink Designs. Go check her out, I'll link her website and facebook page at the bottom of this post.

Many wise people have told me that you should never judge a book by it's cover--Which is very true--but anyone who tries to tell you that a nice cover doesn't attract readers is one hundred percent (excuse my french) bullshitting you. So realizing how much I subconsciously am lured to nicer covers, I spent months thinking about how I wanted my cover to look and at first I just looked at other people's covers and what seemed to be popular but then I realized something that seems like a given but I really spaced this in the beginning: The book cover should represent your book. Yes I know I probably should have realized that sooner but once that finally clicked, the designing got so much easier. I thought about my story and all the happy times my characters shared and all the miserable times and I knew that I wanted both the beautiful and the ugly represented on my cover and suddenly this image came to my mind but I didn't know how to explain what I wanted in just a few words.

I then created what I reffered to as, "The document of doom."

The document of doom was a ten paged document (longer than the prologue in my novel) explaining the image that I had in my mind. Any other graphic designer would have ripped their hair out but when I took the document of doom to Cassy, she effortlessly got the design for the front right on the first try and the design for the back right on the second try. She somehow took the image out of my head and made it a reality and I'm still amazed at how the heck that even happened. But honestly we were a great team and she created something absolutely beautiful and I'm proud to say that I imagined it and that it's mine. So go check her out, I'll be teaming up with her for all future projects.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page